A poem: Open my eyes today

I slept yesterday with tears in my eyes,
I tried to believe in you
I put my life in your hands
They say you answer to prayers
You never break our faith
So I asked you for something
And closed my eyes

I wake up today with my eyes closed
I will open my eyes today only if you promise me
Today will be my day
I will walk on the clouds
and spread my arms and fly
I will smile endlessly

I will open my eyes today only if you promise me
my every dream will be real
so nothing will break when my eyelids open
there will be no nightmares
and reality will finally be sweet

I will open my eyes today only if you promise me
you will answer my questions
till I have none left
no doubts no thoughts
and all hopes will be true
I will believe in you more than I ever have
and I will love you

I will open my eyes today only if you promise me
there is nothing else but happiness
everywhere i see
the sun will spread laughter
and shadows will bring love

I will open my eyes today only if you promise me
that you are for real
I will open my eyes today only if you promise me
I will never doubt you before I close my eyes again

3 Comments

Filed under dreams, feelings, Interesting, interpret, life, love, poems, random, thoughts, writing

3 responses to “A poem: Open my eyes today

  1. Great poem of hope and dream. But on the sideline. let me add a simple line that, we are always on our toes to look up there with a begging bowl and prayer to receive something great; but less time we dare to give something to the others. God gives him who gives too; God helps him who helps himself too.

  2. Pingback: A poem: Open my eyes today « FICTION

  3. 2twentythree3

    wow, this is beautiful. loved it!

Leave a Reply

